With a double-click on a file listed in the chat history, it will open in a separate window and the collaboration can begin. To edit 3D documents, the activation of the AR+ mode is necessary. For more information on 3D objects in AR+ mode, please refer to "How can I collaborate on AR+ Mode with 3D objects?".


Step 1: Collaboration on a PDF document 

  • In PDF documents, the text recognition functionality is still active, so you can select and copy the text as usual. 

  • To insert annotations, you have various options at hand.

Collaboration on PDF documents


Step 2: The arrow keys in the top row undo or redo individual annotations. (1)


Step 3: The reset symbol (2) allows you to delete all annotations at once and reset the file to its original state. 


Step 4: To zoom in or out, please use the magnifying glass. (3)

  • The arrow keys on the right help you navigate the document. 

  • Both the zoom and the navigation are reflected in the view of all users. 


Step 5: The annotation menu can be found at the bottom left. (5)

  • First, you can select the color and stroke width of your annotations.


Step 6: The pen icon represents the freehand drawing function. (7)


Step 7: A click on the T button (8) opens an empty text field. 

  • To move the text box, click on the dark grey part of the text field and hold down the mouse key.

  • To actually place the text in the document, click on the checkmark on the right side of the text field.


Step 8: The arrow keys in the top row undo or redo individual annotations. (1)


Step 9:  The cube icon (9) offers you squares, circles, or arrows for easy annotation.

  •  These appear with a blue dot via which you can scale their shape with the mouse button pressed. 

  • To move the shape, hover the mouse button over the shape until your cursor turns into a hand. 

  • Now you can move the shape to the desired position with the mouse button pressed. 

  • Similar to the text field, the shape is placed with a click on the checkmark. 

  • All annotations remain in place, even as you navigate the document or zoom in or out of the view. 

  • Freehand drawings are synchronized with all users' lives, whereas symbols and text annotations are only displayed to all once you clicked the checkmark.


Step 10:  All users of the web application can save and download the edited part in the form of a .JPEG file by taking a snapshot of the current view. (10)

  •  In the chat history, this file is listed under the original title with the addition _edit.



Please note that all users can make annotations, but the edited version can only be saved by web app users.



Please note that already placed annotations can no longer be moved and can only be removed via the "Undo" arrow key.


Collaboration on images

Step 11: When collaborating on an image file, the annotation menu is even extended. (Fig. 26)

  •  This is independent of whether you are collaborating on a snapshot or an uploaded image file.


Step 12: You are provided with a live pointer (1), and the navigation function (2), for example, to quickly move in an enlarged view.


Step 13: A dropdown menu with various warning symbols (3) enables you to swiftly place unmistakable warnings. 

  •  Scaling and placement work as described for the shapes above.


Step 14:  If you want to download intermediate annotation steps or final versions, please click on the cloud icon. (4)

  • Only when you finished the collaboration, will the final annotated version be logged in the chat history as a .JPEG file under the original title with the addition _edit.